MonVid

Una mica de mi…

It’s been a year… and I have not prepared the sourdough yet!!

1 Comment

That’s the first though I had after receiving a notification from WordPress congratulating me for the first year of the blog. Preparing a new sourdough was one of the things I wanted to do when I opened this blog and I couldn’t believe it’s been a year and I have not find the right moment to prepare it. So,  no more excuses!!!

There are plenty of post explaining how to prepare a sourdough, and each of them is quite different from the others… I have chosen to follow the instructions of Ma Petite Boulangerie, that you can find here.  She proposes two variants, with or without honey. As I was not sure of which of them would be better, I decided to try both!!

Day 1:

We mix 50g of rye flour and 50g of mild water and let it settle for 24 hours. In one of the jars I have added 1 teaspoon of honey.

Jar with honey on the lef.

Day 2:

We mix the dough and let it settle for 24 hours more.

Jar with honey on the lef.

Day 3:

We add 50g of rye flour and 50g of mild water, mix and let it rest for 24 hours.

Jar with honey on the left.

Day 4:

We remove half of the dough and then add 50g of rye flour and 50g of mild water.

I’ve noticed that the jar with honey smells stronger and the dough seems more spongy.

Jar with honey on the left.

Day 5:

We repeat the same that we did on day 4.

Jar with honey on the left.

Day 6:

Now we are on the second phase, where we substitute the rye flour for a white flour. The dough with honey still smells stronger and seems more spongy.

We remove half of the dough and add 50g of club wheat flour and 50g of water.

Jar with honey on the left.

Day 7:

We repeat the same procedure than the day before. Now the differences between the dough with honey and the one without are disappearing.

It seems that the club wheat does not feed the yeast as much as the rye flour, I suppose it’s because of the low gluten content of this flour.

Jar with honey on the left.

 

Day 8:

To reactivate the yeast I decided to feed it with rye flour again. After removing half of the dough it have added 50g of rye flour and 50g of water.

Jar with honey on the left.

 

Jar with honey on the left.

 

In order to have a strong yeast I have decided to alternate between flours on the refreshments, one day I add rye flour, the other club wheat flour.

Now that I have the sourdough ready I will be able to make some bread, that I will show you soon!!

Author: MonVid

Mare, companya, naturalista, modista, cuinera,... i moltes més coses que vaig descobrint...

One thought on “It’s been a year… and I have not prepared the sourdough yet!!

  1. Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful article. Thank you for
    providing these details.

    Like

Leave a Reply

